top of page

R2C Committees

Council Sub-Committee

Commissioner Julian Green, Chair

Commissioner Amy Lockhart, Immediate Past Chair

Commissioner Sean Parks

Mr. John Lesman

Commissioner Emily Bonilla

Council Member Mindy Gibson

Council Member Jake Johansson 

Commissioner Peggy Choudhry

Ms. Susan Davis

Ms. Tara McCue

THE [VOLUNTEER] COUNCIL SUB-COMMITTEE is a dynamic sub set of the larger East Central Florida Regional Planning Council board specifically focused on propelling the Collaborative forward by hearing recommendations from the steering committee and making key decisions to drive the process. They seek and leverage external opportunities within their networks to build and sustain the Collaboratives’ identity and impact. In addition, the Council Sub Committee acts as an intermediary for advancing preparedness and resilient action across jurisdictions as well as to the Regional Planning Council board.

THE STEERING COMMITTEE is a lead multidisciplinary group of stakeholders across east central Florida responsible for developing the process, framework and direction for the Regional Resilience Collaborative to achieve a comprehensive, interdependent approach to increase resilience in the region.

Founding Member R2C.png

Steering Committee

Alan Harris, Seminole County 

Carrie Black, Orange County

Colleen Kettles, Florida Solar Energy Center

Darcie McGee, Brevard County

Elizabeth Myron, Clean Cities Coalition

Eric Alberts, Orlando Health

Hannah Wooten, UF/IFAS

Heather Shubirg, Ocala Metro Chamber & Economic Partnership 

Holly Abeels, Florida Sea Grant, UF IFAS

James Bacchus, University of Central Florida

Dr. Jason Evans, Stetson University 

Jenifer Rupert, ECFRPC

Jared Meyer, Legacy Vacation Resorts

Joseph Blackwell, Lake County

Julianna Merotto, ECFRPC

Lesley Bertolotti, The Nature Conservancy

Lori Forsman, Orange County

Michael Hess, City of Orlando

Rachel Allen, Peace and Justice Institute

Rod Braun, Conservation International

Samantha West, Volusia County

Sarah Kraum, Space Coast TPO

Stephan Harris, River to Sea TPO

Susan Caswell, Osceola County

Susan Glickman, Florida Clinicians for Climate Action

Tara McCue, ECFRPC

Thomas Ruppert, Florida Sea Grant

Venise White, Florida Department of Health

Zachary Eichholz, City of Cape Canaveral

FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
FM logo .png
R2C Founding Member

Advisory Committees

Advisory committees were established to fill gaps in systems identified by a survey and a series of workshops conducted around the region. These regional scale committees provide productive connectivity opportunities to explore the gaps, develop and prioritize goals and cultivate shared strategies and recommendations toward a specific outcome. The committee outcomes may or may not include targets but brought together, all outcomes will contribute implementation or adaptation goals and strategies to reduce risks, vulnerabilities and our carbon footprint and increase sustainability in the region within the three pillars of (people) equity, (places) built infrastructure + natural environment, and (prosperity) economic resilience.


The Equity advisory committee was established with the purpose to advance and create people focused community resilience by building capacity, guiding and supporting the Collaborative and region with the development of equitable decision-making processes, programs, and policies.

Economic Resilience

The Economic Resilience advisory committee was established to strengthen the regional economic system from exposure to shocks and stressors, increase economic mobility and investment, and develop strategies to adapt to future conditions.

Heat, Health, & Violence

New committee formation- To assess the interconnection between heat, health, and violence and the overall impacts of heat in the region. And to address diverse approaches to mitigate heat and improve community resilience.

Infrastructure- Green, Gray, & Blue

The Grey, Green and Blue Infrastructure Advisory Committee was  established with the purpose of providing a  consistent assessment approach to increase resilience and build on strengths of the region’s grey, green and blue infrastructure. This includes identifying regional green, blue and grey assets and infrastructure systems to strengthen functionality, accommodate growth and future migration, protect biodiversity, ecosystem services, natural floodplains and wetlands, and their economic interdependencies toward a more resilient region.

Regional Greenhouse Gas Reduction

Formely known as the Regional Greenhouse Gas Inventory Advisory Committee, this committee was established with the purpose of guiding the development of a regional scale greenhouse gas emissions inventory for the 8-county region in east central Florida. This goal was achieved by utilizing ICLEI’s ClearPath tool and platform to aid in the establishment of a standardized approach to capture transportation, waste and energy data, beginning with the baseline year of 2019. As the committee plans for high impact action emissions reduction strategies across the region, the committee has shifted into a Regional Greenhouse Gas Reduction Advisory Committee. 

Regional Risk & Vulnerability 

The Risk & Vulnerability Advisory Committee was established with the purpose of assessing regional scale impacts from shocks and stressors in order to provide support for implementing strategies and resilient practices within the region. This regional risk efforts will be achieved by leveraging regional expertise; historic, current, and future conditions; consistent metrics and index evaluation; and through analysis of social and natural vulnerabilities.

bottom of page