top of page

The ECFRPC welcomes Seminole County Commissioner Amy Lockhart as its next Council Chair

Updated: Oct 18, 2022

Commissioner Lockhart will be joined by two additional new Executive Committee members with Commissioner Curry of Marion County and Commissioner Shields of Lake County serving as Members-at-Large.

Orlando, Florida (September 23, 2022) – On September 21, 2022, the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council (ECFRPC) voted in Commissioner Amy Lockhart of Seminole County as the next Chair of the ECFRPC. The appointment follows Commissioner Lockhart’s years of engagement with the ECFRPC, most recently serving as the Vice Chair for the Council.

Outgoing Chair, Commissioner Emily Bonilla of Orange County, thanked the Council for the opportunity to serve as the Council Chair during its sixtieth anniversary year. She pointed to Commissioner Lockhart’s commitment to the residents of Seminole County and east central Florida as a testament to the high caliber of work that she brings to the Council.

In accepting the nomination as Chair, Commissioner Lockhart pointed to the wide-reaching programs the ECFRPC provides for the region. “I am excited to collaborate with an amazing team of professionals and peers from our eight-county region on issues such as land use, environmental protection, emergency preparedness, economic development, and transportation.”

The Executive Committee will also see two long-time members step down. Lake County Commissioner Sean Parks and Sumter County Commissioner Craig Estep, serving most recently as Immediate Past Chair and Treasurer, respectively, will be stepping away from their duties on the Executive Committee.

Lake County Commissioner Doug Shields and Marion County Commissioner Craig Curry will be joining the ECFRPC Executive Committee, both in the Member-At-Large positions.

The 2022/2023 ECFRPC Executive Committee takes effect October 1, 2022, and is as follows;

  • Chair - Seminole County Commissioner Amy Lockhart

  • Vice-Chair - City of Wildwood Commissioner Julian Green

  • Secretary - Osceola County Commissioner Peggy Choudhry

  • Treasurer - City of Satellite Beach City Council Member Mindy Gibson

  • Immediate Past Chair - Orange County Commissioner Emily Bonilla

  • Member-at-Large - Lake County Commissioner Doug Shield

  • Member-at-Large - Marion County Commissioner Craig Curry

The staff and Council at the ECFRPC look forward to working with the 22/23 Executive Committee.

About the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council

Established in 1962 as an area-wide association of governments, the ECFRPC is represented by 32 Council members and a skilled staff that provides technical assistance to governments and organizations within the East Central Florida region. The ECFRPC covers eight counties in East Central Florida, including Brevard, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia. These eight counties include 78 towns and cities.


bottom of page