top of page

Luis Nieves-Ruiz selected for College of Fellows of the American Institute of Certified Planners


Orlando, Florida (April 11, 2022) -

The ECFRPC would like to congratulate Luis Nieves-Ruiz on his recent selection to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP). The highest honor that can be bestowed to an urban planning professional, fellows are nominated and selected by their peers because of their outstanding contributions to the profession through professional practice, teaching and mentoring, research, and community service and leadership.

During his nine-year tenure as the Council’s Economic Development Manager, Luis has personally helped to attract close to $800,000 in federal and state grants to fund planning and economic development projects across the region. He has also used his economic modeling expertise to estimate the impact of tourism and recreation activities, sea-level rise, and resiliency projects, among others. In addition to his economic development work, Luis has developed a nationally recognized food systems planning program and recently started a new regional brownfields program.

A servant leader, Luis volunteers extensively with community organizations and boards including Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Florida, Jobs Partnership Florida, the Orange County’s Citizens Review Panel for Human Services, the Florida Advisory Council on Climate and Energy, and the SunRail Customer Advisory Committee, among others. As an adjunct professor with the University of Central Florida, Luis is also helping to educate and mentor students and emerging planning professionals.

Luis' leadership and work have been previously recognized by the Wallace Center at Winrock International (RFE Fellow), Big Brothers Big Sisters (2018 Big of the Year), the National Association of Development Organizations (2017, 2018, and 2020 Innovation Awards), the Urban Land institute (Health Leader’s Network), Next City (2012 Vanguard Class), and Leadership Florida (Connect I).

We are proud to have Luis on our staff and to celebrate with him on this accomplishment.

More information can be found on the College of Fellow of AICP website.

About the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council

Established in 1962 as an area-wide association of governments, the ECFRPC is represented by 32 Council members and a skilled staff that provides technical assistance to governments and organizations within the East Central Florida region. The ECFRPC covers eight counties in East Central Florida, including Brevard, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia. These eight counties include 78 towns and cities.

Media Contact

Ken Storey

Communications Specialist

407-245-0300 ext. 300


bottom of page